Nestled along Sri Lanka's eastern coast, Pottuvil beckons travelers with its serene beaches, vibrant culture, and untamed beauty. This coastal town, located in the Ampara District of the Eastern Province, offers a retreat from the hustle and bustle of urban life. Its golden shores stretch for miles, lapped by the gentle waves of the Indian Ocean, providing the perfect backdrop for relaxation and exploration. Pottuvil's charm lies in its simplicity and authenticity. Visitors can wander through its streets, where traditional markets offer a glimpse into local life, bustling with activity and color. From freshly caught seafood to handcrafted souvenirs, there's something to delight every traveler's senses.

For the adventurous at heart, Pottuvil offers a playground of outdoor activities. Surfing enthusiasts can ride the waves at renowned breaks like Arugam Bay, while nature lovers can explore nearby wildlife reserves and ancient ruins, steeped in history and mystery. As the day comes to a close, Pottuvil's hospitality shines through in its culinary offerings. Indulge in a feast of aromatic spices and fresh seafood, served with warmth and generosity that reflects the town's welcoming spirit. In Pottuvil, every moment is an opportunity to connect with nature, culture, and community, creating memories that linger long after the journey ends.

Pottuvil is a town in the Ampara District of Sri Lanka, located on the eastern coast of the Island. It is situated 4 km (2.5 mi) north of the popular tourist destination Arugam Bay.  

About Ampara District

Amparais belongs to the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka. It is a remote city on the East Coast of Sri Lanka, about 360 km from the capital city ofColombo. Ampara is the largest paddy harvesting province in the country, and has the Indian Ocean on the east coast of Sri Lanka as a fisheries resource. Most of the civilians are Sinhala, while Tamils and Sri Lankan Moors also live in the coastal parts of the district.

About Eastern Province

The Eastern Province is one of the 9 provinces of Sri Lanka. The provinces have existed since the 19th century but they didn't have any legal status until 1987 when the 13th Amendment to the 1978 Constitution of Sri Lanka established provincial councils. Between 1988 and 2006 the province was temporarily merged with the Northern Province to form the North-East Province. The capital of the province is Trincomalee. The Eastern province's population was 1,460,939 in 2007. The province is the most diverse in Sri Lanka, both ethnically and religiously.

Eastern province has an area of 9,996 square kilometers (3,859.5 sq mi).The province is surrounded by the Northern Province to the north, the Bay of Bengal to the east, the Southern Province to the south, and the Uva, Central and North Central provinces to the west. The province's coast is dominated by lagoons, the largest being Batticaloa lagoon, Kokkilai lagoon, Upaar Lagoon and Ullackalie Lagoon.

【LK94008910: Images by Google, copyright(s) reserved by original authors.】